Competition Results from the FD Super Drift Challenge Day 1


  • Rome Charpentier (USA) – Garagistic / Pedal Commander / Vitour Tires E82 BMW
  • Jonathan Hurst (USA) – MRCOOL Cadillac XLR
  • Kasey Kohl (USA) – MSPEK Performance Nissan S14.9
  • Kyle Mohan (USA) – KMR / Renewable Lubricants / Mazdatrix RX-8
  • Connor O’Sullivan (USA) – RTS / GT Radial E46 BMW 
  • Daniel Stuke (USA) – MSPEK Performance Nissan Silvia Spec-R
  • Robert Thorne (USA) – ASM E46 M3
  • Forrest Wang (USA) – Get Nuts Laboratory / Yellowspeed / Vitour Nissan S15 


  • Forrest Wang (USA) – Get Nuts Laboratory / Yellowspeed / Vitour Nissan S15 
  • Rome Charpentier (USA) – Garagistic / Pedal Commander / Vitour Tires E82 BMW
  • Jonathan Hurst (USA) – MRCOOL Cadillac XLR


  • Formula DRIFT President Ryan Sage was joined by guest announcer, FD PRO driver Ken Gushi, a 21-year veteran of the series
  • The Super Drift judging panel included Gushi (Japan), 2011 PRO Champion Dai Yoshihara (Japan), and new FD series judge Vernon Zwaneveld (Netherlands)
  • Driver match-ups for tandem competition runs were decided by a random draw in the absence of qualifying runs
  • Competitors from both the Formula DRIFT PRO and PROSPEC Championships entered their competition vehicles into the Super Drift Challenge
  • Style-king Wang became a three-time Super Drift winner following a super-close battle with Charpentier in the Final. His previous victories include a double win in 2019 and third place in 2021 
  • Second place Charpentier successfully competed in his new E82 BMW competition car
  • Third place Hurst had an incomplete score during his lead run against Charpentier, allowing Rome to advance to the Finals against Wang


  • Super Drift Challenge is an invitational event. Competitors are drawn from the Formula DRIFT series but do not score points towards the FD PRO or PROSPEC Championships
  • Formula DRIFT has a long history with the Grand Prix of Long Beach, dating back to 2005 when the series was invited to conduct an annual full-course drift demo for GP fans
  • In 2012, Super Drift was introduced, offering a more traditional Formula DRIFT elimination competition format for spectators to enjoy
  • In 2006, Formula DRIFT worked with Grand Prix of Long Beach to establish its own standalone Championship round using Turns 9 to 11
  • Round 1 of the Formula DRIFT PRO Championship season takes place the weekend before the Grand Prix on the Streets of Long Beach. It has become a mainstay of the annual eight-round Formula DRIFT calendar
  • Drifting is judged on a driver’s line through the course, angle in the turns, and style throughout the run. The chase car’s proximity to the lead car is also a crucial factor


Round 2: Type S Road To The Championship presented by AutoZone will take place at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta on May 9-11, as well as Round 1 of the Link ECU PROSPEC Championship. Please visit for the competition schedule, ticket information, driver profiles, special content, and the event livestream

Leave a Reply
Previous article

James Deane wins the Opening Round

Next article

In pursuit of perfection!

Related articles:
More →

FD Atlanta review!

As the longest serving track on the Formula DRIFT schedule, Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta is also the fastest…

Tu grįžai!

Registruoti ir prisijungę vartotojai mato daugiau, tad skaityk toliau.

Prisijunk ir matyk daugiau

Esi registruotas vartotojas? Prisijunk.
Jei neturi vartotojo platformoje – ne bėda. Registruokis ir matyk daugiau!

Pamiršai slaptažodį? registruotis

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience and better understand our website's usage. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies under the GDPR. You can control cookie usage through browser settings. Our Privacy Policy has more information. Disabling cookies may limit your access to certain features on our site