Formula Drift

Nick Noback wins the final FD qualification

Formula DRIFT has returned to Irwindale Speedway – The House of Drift – for its traditional season Finals. Four drivers have a mathematical chance of claiming the PRO Championship title, but Matt Field (USA), Simen Olsen (Norway), and Fredric Aasbo (Norway) will each need to overcome a significant points deficit to challenge leader, Chelsea DeNofa (USA).

Having announced his retirement from Formula DRIFT at the end of the season, FD PRO Championship points leader DeNofa qualified seventh with an 83.3 point run in the Pennzoil / BC Racing Ford Mustang RTR Spec 5-FD – the best qualifier of the quartet.

Of DeNofa’s title contenders, Olsen qualified ninth, Aasbo 17th and Field 18th.

Field was involved in a practice collision with James Deane (Ireland) shortly before the K&N Qualifying session. Field’s Borla Performance / GT Radial Corvette was damaged, while Deane described it as the hardest hit of his career. The AutoZone Ford Mustang RTR Spec 5-FD was thrown into the air before sliding its roof along the wall on two wheels, requiring significant repairs. The shaken Irishman qualified in a highly respectable sixth place with an 83.3-point run after the entire RTR Motorsports team rallied to fix the car.

Formula Drift

Leading qualifier Noback blitzed the field with a score of 93 points. He earned a bye run through the Top 32 after Ryan Litteral (USA) failed to complete a qualifying run.

Formula Drift

Second-place qualifier Bakchis scored 87.6 points and similarly earned himself a Top 32 bye run after Jonathan Hurst (USA) also failed to qualify.

Formula Drift

Leading Rookie and 2022 Formula DRIFT Link ECU PROSPEC Champion Robert Thorne (USA) qualified tenth with 81.6 points in the ASM E46 BMW Sedan Pro Edition. His nearest rival for the Rookie of the Year title, Diego Higa (Brazil), placed 12th with 81 points. And with a mere 16 points separating them, the title is within the grasp of both drivers.

With 32 drivers qualifying for the Top 32 competition places, everybody needed to successfully complete a run to earn a place in the Final Round. However, technical problems for Litteral and Hurst meant they were eliminated.

Leave a Reply
Previous article

Drift Kings Greece: Giori and Janušauskaitė Secure Championship

Next article

Contenders to win FD 2023 - situation before the Top32

Related articles:
More →

FD Atlanta review!

As the longest serving track on the Formula DRIFT schedule, Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta is also the fastest…

Tu grįžai!

Registruoti ir prisijungę vartotojai mato daugiau, tad skaityk toliau.

Prisijunk ir matyk daugiau

Esi registruotas vartotojas? Prisijunk.
Jei neturi vartotojo platformoje – ne bėda. Registruokis ir matyk daugiau!

Pamiršai slaptažodį? registruotis

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience and better understand our website's usage. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies under the GDPR. You can control cookie usage through browser settings. Our Privacy Policy has more information. Disabling cookies may limit your access to certain features on our site